Organizational structure

Organizational structure

Organisational structure of EEP Mekong Phase II includes the following:

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee (SC) is the main decision making body of EEP Mekong programme. The Steering Committee consists of representative from clean energy promotion ministires and departments from each member country (Cambodia, Lao PDR, Myanmar, Thailand, Vietnam) and representatives of the donor (MFA Finland).


Regional Coordination Unit (RCU)

The Regional Coordination Unit (RCU) in Vientiane - Lao PDR - has been closed as of 31 December 2018. Follow-up on project implementation incl. project completion is done by Mr.Asko Ojaniemi from Hanoi - Vietnam Office and by Mr.Bernhard Meyhoefer from Bangkok - Thailand Office. The contact details of Mr.Asko and Mr.Bernhard are shown at 'contact us'.

National Coordination Unit (NCU)

Each country nominates a National Coordination Unit (NCU) to support the EEP programme implementation at the national level and monitors and support the project implementation in their respective countries. The National Coordinators are also responsible for ensuring efficient communication in their respective countries and with the RCU.

The EEP provides grants to projects that are implemented either nationally or regionally. Each project will have a Lead Partner who is responsible for the implementation of the project and reports to the Regional Coordination Unit and to the National Coordinators. The Lead Partner will organize regular project-level steering committee meetings (a project-specific SC will be established for each project) where the RCU and the National Coordinators are invited. The RCU is responsible for monitoring the progress, and the use of funds. 

The RCU gives support to the projects during their implementation and organizes regional thematic knowledge exchange forums and matchmaking events to attract potential investors for the replication of the projects in the Mekong region or elsewhere. The RCU reports on the progress of the projects to the Steering Committee that will meet minimum twice a year.